The Stolperstein issue

Orginally I started this blog to give my ‘Stolperstein’ series a home in the web.
After posting some portraits, some gear stuff and later nudes, this site/blog went in a whole different direction and it seemed rather inappropiate to continue with them here.
I started an new blog called Stolpersteine in Hamburg to give them a ‘real’ home, this time in German, posted some photos, changed the theme but couldn’t really decide how to proceed. There is a vague idea to connect my pictures with the biographys of the nazi victims, but I haven’t yet figured out how to do that. Or if I even should.
Keeping in mind that in most cases the Stolpersteine are the last objects that remain as a memory of these victims for their descendants, no grave, no gravestone, no nothing. It’s a sensible subject. I don’t wanna screw this up. Any suggestions? I’m a bit at a loss here.

Bogenstraße 27, Hamburg

Update:
For the time being I linked the names to the respective biographys at the Stolpersteine Hamburg site from the Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Hamburg. Now I only have to fill the new blog with some of the existing pictures and produce some new ones…

This entry was posted in Hamburg, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Stolperstein issue

  1. Ant says:

    I would have thought presenting them as a silent gallery was the best idea and knowing how you write I think the things you want to say will become evident in the images. I think that maybe you have an urge to say something but you might be underestimating the thousand words in every picture.

    Ant.
    ɹǝpun uʍop puɐl ǝɥʇ ɯoɹɟ

  2. Thanks for the input and the kind words!
    I don’t really want to write anything, exept a little introdution. I’m not a wordsmith… 😉

    Marc

Leave a Reply

